HomeSports ( November 23, 2022 )


Norris Signs Letter Of Intent; Winter Sports Prep Underway

By Tom Robinson

Susquehanna sprinter and pole vaulter Tatum Norris has signed a National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Letter of Intent to continue her track and field career on scholarship at Binghamton University.

Norris made her recent verbal commitment official with a signing ceremony at the school Friday.

Last spring, as a junior, Norris won two individual state championships and personally compiled all the points necessary to make the Lady Sabers Class 2A girls team champions at the Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association Track and Field Championships.

Norris won state titles in the 100- and 200-meter dashes and finished second in the state in the pole vault.

Binghamton placed fourth out of nine teams in the America East women's track and field championships last spring. It had one athlete place at the NCAA Championships, leaving the team tied for 49th in the point standings at nationals.

The Bearcats compete in indoor track and field in the winter before moving outdoors in the spring.


SCRANTON – Susquehanna County schools were represented on all four teams Sunday when the 20th annual UNICO Scranton Soccer Cup was held indoors at Riverfront Sports.

Forest City's Gabby Pleska and Lily Zukosky were part of the Pink team that defeated the Green, 3-2, in the girls' game to open the doubleheader.

Scranton Prep's Hannah Curry sandwiched two goals around a score by game Most Valuable Jacqui Weber from Wallenpaupack to turn a 1-0 halftime deficit into a 3-1 lead.

Tyler Jakes from Western Wayne coached the Pink team.

It included players from his team, Valley View, West Scranton, Honesdale, Delaware Valley and Holy Cross as well as Forest City, Scranton Prep and Wallenpaupack.

Mountain View, Elk Lake and Montrose had players on the Green team.

Taylor Neri and Alexis Turner were the Mountain View players, Delaney Curley and Caitlyn Kerr were the Elk Lake players and Hayley Pompey and Mya Snyder were the Montrose players.

Dan Badyrka from Dunmore coached the Green, which also included his players along with those from Lakeland, North Pocono, Abington Heights, Carbondale, and Mid Valley.

Scranton's Sebastian Carmona was MVP with two goals to lead the White past the Green, 5-4, in the boys' game.

Blue Ridge's Nick Ross and Nick Pallman were part of the White team that was coached by Graig Arcurie from North Pocono.

In addition to Scranton, Blue Ridge and North Pocono, the White team was also made up of players from Riverside, Western Wayne, Abington Heights, Wallenpaupack, Holy Cross, Scranton Prep and Delaware Valley.

Mountain View's Hunter Kozloski and Owen Cameron were on the Green team.

Dunmore's Tom Clark coached the Green team with players from his team and Mountain View, along with West Scranton, Lakeland, Honesdale, Valley View and Old Forge.


Ryan Carmody was named as Hartwick College's selection as Empire 8 Sportsman of the Year in football.

The senior defensive lineman from Susquehanna had seven tackles, 11 assists and shared in a tackle for a loss for the Hawks while playing every game during a 2-8 season.

In 19 games over three seasons, Carmody had 18 tackles, 16 assists, 1½ tackles for losses and a sack.


Winter sports teams began official practices for basketball, wrestling and swimming seasons Friday.

Teams can move into scrimmages with other schools for the first time Friday and can begin non-league play Dec. 2.

The Lackawanna League will open boys' and girls' swimming seasons Dec. 6.

The Lackawanna League Wrestling Tournament will be Dec. 17 at Wallenpaupack, followed by the start of league dual meets Dec. 21.

Lackawanna League girls' basketball will open Jan. 2, followed by boys' basketball the next day.

The last Lackawanna teams in fall sports finished Friday and Saturday with playoff football losses by Delaware Valley, Valley View, Scranton Prep, Lakeland and Lackawanna Trail.

Those losses bring an end to our football predictions.

Our predictions were 3-2 (60.0 percent) last week to finish the playoffs at 15-5 (75.0 percent) and the complete season at 112-28 (80.0 percent).

TOM ROBINSON writes a weekly local sports column for the Susquehanna County Transcript. He can be reached online at or followed on Twitter at @tomjrobinson.

Back to Top