HomeSchools ( May 15, 2019 )

SCCTC Students Get PBA Awards

The Pennsylvania Builders Association's (PBA) Endorsed Trade Program recently awarded two local Outstanding Student Awards to Susquehanna County Career and Technical Center (CTC) students, Brian Kozloski and Adam Roe.

Kozloski, a senior, is in the carpentry program. He was nominated for the honor by his instructor, Bruce Castelli.

Roe, a senior from Hallstead, studies the building property maintenance program. Instructor Stephen Reinhart nominated Adam for the award.

Both were presented with the awards by David DiPasquale, PBA Director of Endorsed Operations, along with Castelli, Reinhart, and Susquehanna County CTC Executive Director Dr. Alice Davis.

The Outstanding Student Award is presented to students across Pennsylvania in recognition of their embodiment in the trade. Students who carry a minimum GPA, are members of a student chapter of the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB), and are from schools enrolled in the Endorsed Trade Program, are eligible. The award is sponsored by the PBA and local builders associations including the Home Builders Association of Northeastern PA.

Brian, son of Brian and Lisa Kozloski of Union Dale, said he was very surprised and excited when he found out about the award. After graduation he has plans on pursuing a carpenter's apprenticeship. "I chose the most deserving student for this award," said Castelli. "Brian will be an asset to the trades."

Adam, son of Thomas and Kathy Roe of Hallstead, said, "It was an honor to receive this award. I am thankful to have a great instructor like Mr. Reinhart." Adam will continue his education at Penn Tech for Construction Management. Reinhart noted that Adam is "an excellent student with a great work ethic and integrity."

The Endorsed Trade Program was developed by the PBA, in collaboration with educators, local builders associations and others to provide technical school graduates with more credibility in the job market – as well as provide builders with a highly skilled workforce.

For more information on the Endorsed Trade Program, visit

Back to Top

Mt. View Theater To Present Spring Plays

The Mountain View Elementary Theater Group proudly presents Professor Thyme and the History Mystery. This show will take the audience on a voyage back in history to see if Professor Thyme can stop a count down from changing the past and wiping out the future.

The Mountain View Jr. High Theater Group will be presenting Student Directed One Acts and Monologues including a show that was written by the students themselves. Join for this great night of theater, comedy and entertainment. Saturday, May 4th at 7pm and Sunday, May 5th at 3pm at the Mountain View High School Auditorium. Admission is $5 per person. Children 4 and under are free.

Back to Top

SCCTC Students Receive Awards

Dr. Alice M. Davis, Executive Director of the Susquehanna County Career and Technology Center, is pleased to announce that four SCCTC Accounting Technology students recently received awards for their outstanding academic achievement, leadership, and involvement in extracurricular and community activities.

Brooke Arnold, Peyton Jones, Madison Sickler and Kylie Smith received certificates to acknowledge their acceptance into the National Business Education Honor Society. Acceptance into the honor society is based upon an overall high school GPA of 3.5 or higher, performance in accounting, computer technology, and business courses, as well as involvement in extracurricular activities, community service, FBLA leadership and achievement, and teacher recommendations. All four honorees plan to pursue college degrees in business-related fields upon graduation.

Back to Top

Blue Ridge High Students Of Month


Back to Top

Moose Is Loose At Susky High

Susquehanna Community High School will be hosting its 14th Annual Mocha Moose Café on May 21, 2019, from 5:30 - 8:30pm in the high school gym. All are invited to join the students as they show off their talents and accomplishments. Tickets are available at the door, $3 for adults and $2 for students.

14 years ago the Mocha Moose Café started when the Parent Involvement Committee (PIC) wanted to showcase the talented students of SCHS with an evening program featuring a wide variety of acts that included a few teachers as well. The program had its beginnings in the main cafeteria with a quaint coffee house style setting of dim lights and a small stage for acts. The night of entertainment was so well received that after two short years it was moved to the gym to accommodate the crowd.

This year the SCSD Archery Club and Saber Studio Art Club will be hosting the event. The night will include finger food, desserts and drinks, basket raffle, great musical, dance and dramatic performances.

Back to Top

Macy Phillips Gets Achievement Award

Wilkes University student Macy Phillips, of Vandling, PA, was one of more than 95 students, faculty and staff recognized at the Extracurricular Awards Luncheon for their contributions to activities outside the classroom. The event was held April 25, 2019.

Phillips received the Environmental Engineering & Earth Sciences Extracurricular Achievement Award presented by Department of Environmental Engineering & Earth Sciences.

Back to Top

Locals Graduate Misericordia Univ.

The following are local Misericordia University students who applied and were eligible to participate in the spring commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 11th, 2019:

Phyllis Hibbard, Springville, Nursing, BSN.

Katelynn Taylor, Clifford Township, Early Childhood and Special Education, BS.

Back to Top

Stephen Jesse In Honor Society

Stephen Jesse, of Kingsley, PA, was one of 61 SUNY Oneonta students recently induced into the Tau Sigma National Honor Society, which is designed exclusively for transfer students.

Jesse is studying Business Economics at SUNY Oneonta.

Back to Top

Allison Arnold In Honor Society

Allison Arnold, of Montrose, was recently initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation's oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society. Arnold was initiated at Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania.

Back to Top

Rebekah Bayle Graduates CU

Rebekah Bayle, of Jackson, PA graduated from Cedarville University with a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Science degree during the 123rd annual commencement held May 4, 2019.

Back to Top