Main News
County Living
Church Announcements
Dated Events
Military News
Subscribe to the Transcript

Look For Our
Up Coming
Featured In
The July 13th
Issue Of The
County Transcript

Please visit our kind sponsors

Issue Home July 5, 2005 Site Home

Follow these links to our area school districts...



Sirianni Scholarship Winners Announced
SCCD Announces Scholarship Winner
Courtney Cunningham Gets Doctor Of Pharmacy
Local Students Make K C Dean’s List
Area Students Make K U Dean’s List
Local Students Make S
U Dean’s List

Sirianni Scholarship Winners Announced

Alyssa Lonzinski, Scholarship Chairman for the Susquehanna County Council of Republican Women is pleased to announce the winners for 2005. The Carmel Sirianni Memorial Scholarship was awarded to a student in each high school, who through community service involvement has exhibited exceptional leadership qualities. This year students had to write an essay on: What Effect Will women Have in Politics in the 21st Century? The awards were presented by President Marion O’Malley, Donna Cosmello, Unadine Wiseman, Cathy Benedict, Mary Evans, and Alyssa Lonzinski. The recipients were:

Blue Ridge: Beth Giangrieco, New Milford, will be attending College Misericordia pursuing her Master’s Degree in
Occupational Therapy.

Elk Lake: Heather Shadduck, Meshoppen will be attending Penn State University Park majoring in Political Science.

Kate LaBarbera, Montrose,
will be attending Drexel University majoring in Biology.

Forest City: Brittany Frederici,
Forest City will be attending Northampton Community College majoring in Dental Hygiene.

Mountain View: Crystal Butcher, Forest City, will be attending Temple University majoring in Political Science.

Susquehanna: Bridgette Stone, Thompson (no picture supplied).

Back to Top


SCCD Announces Scholarship Winner

The Susquehanna County Conservation (SCCD) has named Abigail Onyon, a 2005 Blue Ridge graduate, as the recipient of the first annual Susquehanna County Conservation District Scholarship award. Abigail has been very involved in Susquehanna County 4-H programs in addition to various community and scholastic activities during her student career.

Abigail Onyon as she receives the $500.00 Susquehanna County Conservation District Scholarship Award from Jim Garner, SCCD District Manager.

Abigail will attend Delaware Valley College, Doylestown, PA to pursue a career as a large animal veterinarian. Abigail is the daughter of John and Bonny Onyon, New Milford, PA.

The Susquehanna County Conservation District awards the $500.00 scholarship to a Susquehanna County high school graduate. The student must be enrolled as a full time student in an environmental or agriculture field for the following fall semester upon their graduation.

Back to Top


Courtney Cunningham Gets Doctor Of Pharmacy

At the 184th graduation ceremony of the University of the Sciences in Philadelphia held May 19, 2005, Courtney A. Cunningham received her Doctor of Pharmacy degree Magna cum Laude. She also was awarded the McNeil Consumer Healthcare award for excellence in nonprescription medication studies and the Sarah B. Shapiro Memorial award for academic achievement and exemplifying the humanitarian aspects of her profession.

While attending USP, Courtney was a member of the American Pharmaceutical Association and rifle team and is a current member of Rho Chi Pharmacy Honor Society and the National Communtiy Pharmacists’ Acssociation.  She was a member of the Kingsessing Singers and served 4 terms as president.  She is a sister of Alpha Delta Chi co-ed fraternity where she served as treasurer and finance committee chair, and has been the sole tutor for the Intellectual Heritage curriculum.  She has been awarded a Carmen DiCello scholarship and is listed in Who’s Who Among American College Students.

Dr. Cunningham is the daughter of Donald and Mary Ann Cunningham of RR#2, New Milford. Her grandparents are Donald and Thelma Cunningham of Laceyville and Wanda and the late Chester Michael formerly of Lenox.

Dr. Cunningham has accepted a position at Johnson’s Pharmacy in Hazelton, PA.

Back to Top


Local Students Make K C Dean’s List

La Plume – Dr. Edward G. Boehm, Jr., Keystone College president and Dr. Robert F. Scott, Jr., vice president of academic affairs and dean of the College, announced the full-time students who have been named to the president’s, dean’s, and honors list for the 2005 spring semester.

Students who complete 12 credits and achieve a grade point average of 4.00 are named to the president’s list. To qualify for the dean’s and honors list, students must complete 12 credits and achieve a grade point average of 3.70-3.99 and 3.50-3.69 respectively.

President’s List: Janelle M. Brant, Hop Bottom; Alicia M. Corbin, Hop Bottom; Jamie A. Janesky, Hop Bottom; Donna T. Johnson, Hop Bottom; Kelli R. Kane, Susquehanna; Melody C. Phillips, New Milford; Tierra N. Shortt, Montrose; and Danielle L. Stone, Thompson.

Dean’s List: Jennifer L. DeNike, Clifford; Joshua D. Ford, Montrose; Heather R. Harris, Hop Bottom; Lori King, Montrose; Meagan Martel, New Milford; Nana H. Pietriyk, Montrose; Timothy J. Potter, Hop Bottom; Adam M. Rauch, Montrose; Amber Sickler, Hop Bottom; Corey Michael Smith, New Milford; Stephanie A. Tompkins, New Milford; Tiffanie A. Tompkins, New Milford; Ashley L. Twining, Thompson; and Deborah A. Watson-Graves, Thompson.

Honors List: Carolyn J. Carpenter, Susquehanna; Susan Kelley, Montrose; Jenna Kogut, New Milford; Katherine G. Masters, Kingsley; Lindsay M. Rosenkrans, Montrose; Ashley N. Skiba, Susquehanna; Matthew S. Treible, Hallstead; and Brenda L. Walker, Hallstead.

Back to Top


Area Students Make K U Dean’s List

A total of 1,653 students were eligible for the Spring, 2005 Dean’s List at Kutztown University of Pennsylvania. This recognition is given to students who received a quality point average of at least 3.60 while carrying at least 12 hours of credit for the semester.

Local students qualifying for the honor were: Brian M. Aldrich, Montrose; Maria T. Conigliaro, New Milford; Jon R. Dickison, Union Dale; Paula A. Drum, Lenoxville; Erin K. Griffiths, Forest City; Courtney E. Harrison, Nicholson; Deirdre D. Philpott, Lanesboro; Steven P. White, Montrose; James R. Wolfe, Union Dale; Rebecca K. Wood, Jackson.

Back to Top


Local Students Make S U Dean’s List

Selinsgrove, PA – More than 800 students have been named to the Dean’s List for the spring semester at Susquehanna University. The Dean’s List recognizes students who earn a grade point average of 3.4 or better out of a possible 4.0 for the semester. To be eligible, students must complete at least 12 semester hours.

Local students who are Dean’s List scholars are: Amanda Fallon, Thompson; Katie Hawley, Montrose; Stacy Lyons, Susquehanna; Katherine McHale, Starrucca; Heather Warneke, Thompson.

Back to Top


News  |  Living  |  Sports  |  Schools  |  Churches  |  Ads  |  Events
Military  |  Columns  |  Ed/Op  |  Obits  | Archive  |  Subscribe