Main News
County Living
Church Announcements
Dated Events
Military News
Subscribe to the Transcript

Call Today To Book Your Ad For Our Annual Susquehanna Home Town Days July 16

Please visit our kind sponsors

Issue Home June 25, 2008 Site Home

Follow these links to our area school districts...



Seniors Receive HOTA Awards
Jeffrey Oakley Makes Cedarville Dean’s List
Pomona Grange No. 7 Awards Scholarships
R.E.S.C.U.E. Awards Annual Scholarships


Seniors Receive HOTA Awards

Graduating seniors from the six public schools districts in Susquehanna County received certificates and awards presented by the “Harvest of the Arts” committee.

“We want Art to thrive and prosper in America by encouraging our young people to continue making art, regardless of career choice. Each teacher-nominated student has shown extraordinary talent, and is deserving of this award,” commented artist Sally Krimmel. The recipient was decided by a witnessed, random drawing since it is nearly impossible to have an objective vote when presenting one art against another.

Awards and certificates were presented to the following individuals.

Blue Ridge School District: Josh Hartman, Music ($100 award); Sara Tompkins, Theater-Drama; Danielle Kruse, Art.

Elk Lake School District: Ariel Shiffer, Original Composition – Music ($100 Award); Ashley Koopmann, Art.

Forest City Regional: Amber Sauls, Art ($100 Award).

Montrose Area School: Jo Ann Mollo, Music – Performance ($100 Award); Jaclyn Tess Aldrich, Art; Emily Adams, Original Composition-Music; Mariah Castrogiovanni, Theater Dance.

Mountain View School: Justin Moser, Art ($100 Award).

Susquehanna Community: Ellen Biegert, Art ($100 Award).

“The ‘Harvest of the Arts’ is one of many projects of the Susquehanna Community Development Association of Susquehanna Depot. Mark your calendar now, September 20 and 21, for the second annual Susquehanna County ‘Harvest of the Arts’ festival, which is a gathering and celebration of the talents of our area, not just the professionals,” stated chairman Alice Deutsch. For more information or to participate call (570) 756-2044 or

Back to Top


Jeffrey Oakley Makes Cedarville Dean’s List

Jeffrey Oakley, son of Timothy and Wendy Oakley, Gelatt, was named to the Cedarville University Dean’s List for the 2008, Spring semester. Jeff is a freshman, majoring in Computer Engineering. To be named to the Cedarville University Dean’s List, a student must earn a 3.5 GPA for the semester and be carrying at least 12 semester hours.

Back to Top


Pomona Grange No. 7 Awards Scholarships

Susquehanna County Pomona Grange No. 7 is pleased to announced the winners of their annual scholarship. A check for $200.00 was awarded to a deserving senior in each of the county high schools. This year’s recipients were: Jonathan Onyon, Blue Ridge; Ashley Wilson, Elk Lake; Danielle Nebzydoski, Forest City; Nathan Oleniacz, Montrose; Alicia Beeman, Mt. View; Chelsey Saam, Susquehanna Community.

Serving on the committee were Grange members Sandy Bennett, Evelyn Cottrell, Celia Wagner, Cathy Oakley, Bea Gardner.

Back to Top


R.E.S.C.U.E. Awards Annual Scholarships

The Wayne/Susquehanna Chapter of the environmental group R.E.S.C.U.E. has made a cash award of $100.00 to six graduating seniors, class of 2008, in the six school districts within Wayne/Susquehanna R.E.S.C.U.E. geographical boundaries.

Qualifications for the award include good citizenship, leadership in an environmental area, past interest in environmental projects, and/or the possibility of a future career in an area that would benefit the environment.

This year the recipients are: Kristi Farinelli, Western Wayne High School; Meagan Driver, Honesdale High School; Kent Corey, Forest City Regional High School; Cindy Williams, Susquehanna Community High School; Megan Shipsky, Mountain View High School; John Szwed, Hancock Central High School.

Back to Top



News  |  Living  |  Sports  |  Schools  |  Churches  |  Ads  |  Events
Military  |  Columns  |  Ed/Op  |  Obits  | Archive  |  Subscribe