Main News
County Living
Church Announcements
Dated Events
Military News
Subscribe to the Transcript

Valentine's Day Special Running February 14 Call Toady To Place Your Ad

Please visit our kind sponsors

Issue Home January 31, 2007 Site Home

Follow these links to our area school districts...



Matthew Hornak On C. M. Dean’s List
Local Students On U of S Dean’s List
Blue Ridge Elementary 2nd Period Honor Roll
More Wins For EL Forensics Team
LCCC Announces Academic Honors

Matthew Hornak On C. M. Dean’s List

College Misericordia announced the Fall, 2006 Dean's List. Achieving the honor from our area was Matthew Hornak, Montrose.

Back to Top


Local Students On U of S Dean’s List

The University of Scranton has announced its Dean’s List, which recognizes students for academic excellence during the 2006 fall semester. A student must have a grade point average of 3.5 or better with a minimum number of credit hours to make the Dean’s List. Students named to the Dean’s List included the following Susquehanna County residents: Jessica L. Andrews, Forest City; Jonathan P. Bennett, Harford: Shawn M. Brothwell, Browndale; Theodore M. Brunelle, New Milford; Joanna Fischer, Forest City; Megan I. Henry, Hop Bottom; Brooke L. Hinkley, Hallstead; Adele N. Kryger, Kingsley; Amanda S. Marcy, Kingsley; Brian W. O'Connor, Susquehanna; William D. Orasin, Forest City; Katherine N. Thullen, Thompson; Raymond Totten, Clifford; Jeremy J. Travis, Lanesboro; Seth D. Wasnock, Forest City.

Back to Top


Blue Ridge Elementary 2nd Period Honor Roll

Following is the Blue Ridge Elementary School Honor Roll for the second marking period of the 2006-07 school year.


Mrs. Buffington: Leif Axel Berg, Sierra Hall, Ethan Robinson, Abagael Rudock.

Mrs. Chamberlain: Jenna Bennett, Austin French, Devon Randall.

Mr. Mazikewich: Curtis Mills.

Mrs. Wolfe: Samantha Allen, Adam Collins, Samantha Frailey, Quentin Millard.


Mrs. Buffington: Walker Beebe, Justin Carpenter, Brittany Chaffee, Vincent DeBella, Sian Emerson, Lewis Espisito, Brett Meixner, Michelle Norton, Jessica Oakley, Joshua Potter.

Mrs. Chamberlain: Daniel Darrow, Kara Empett, Kelly Gordon, Dustin Jones, Makayla Kingston, Jessica Loomis, Mark Oakley, Bradley Palmatier, Sara Price, Anja Whitehead.

Mr. Mazikewich: R-E-onna Canfield, Dylan Darrow, Caroline Davis, Morgan Gillespie, Stacie Grubb, Bethany Krug, Shania Yachymiak.

Mrs. Wolfe: Logan Ellis, Destiny Galu, Craig Monks, Donald Richardson, Aaron Ward, Dakota Wilson, Jacklyn Wolfe.

Back to Top


More Wins For EL Forensics Team

The Elk Lake Forensics Team continued its strong season by bringing home five trophies at the eighth annual Martin Luther King Tournament at Meyers High School in Wilkes-Barre on January 20.

Pictured (l-r) are Elk Lake Forensics Team Place winners at the MLK Tournament at Meyers HS: Ryne Carney, 4th Place, Novice Student Congress; Karyn Hunsinger, 5th Place, Varsity Student Congress; Molly Copeland, 3rd Place, Varsity LD Debate; Max McKeon, 3rd Place, Varsity Student Congress; Brad Flower, 5th Place, MLK Extemp Commentary.

Once again, senior Molly Copeland led the team by placing third in Varsity Lincoln-Douglas Debate.

Copeland compiled an undefeated 4 win and 0 loss record in the preliminary rounds by defeating debaters from Newburgh Free Academy, Danville, and Unionville High Schools and was the second seed after the preliminary rounds.

In the Semi-Finals, Copeland lost a split decision to Jay Garlapati, who she defeated in Finals the previous weekend at the LaSalle Forum Tournament, from Unionville High School.

In Student Congress, Elk Lake advanced three competitors to the Super Session.

Juniors Max McKeon and Karyn Hunsinger led the congress competitors by placing third and fifth, respectively, in Varsity Student Congress.

Sophomore Ryne Carney advanced to Super Session and placed fourth in Novice Student Congress.

Senior Brad Flower placed fifth in Martin Luther King Extemporaneous Commentary.

“This team showed a lot of character coming off of a successful tournament last weekend and then repeating the strong performance at another competitive tournament this week,” commented EL Forensics Director Keith Brosious.

On January 27, the EL Forensics Team traveled to Shikellamy High School in Sunbury to compete at the Blue, Maroon, and White Tournament, the oldest and largest one-day invitational forensics tournament in Pennsylvania.

Back to Top


LCCC Announces Academic Honors

Luzerne County Community College announced the following students have earned recognition for outstanding academic achievement during the fall, 2006 semester.

To qualify for the President’s List, a student must earn a 4.0 cumulative grade point average. Students who attain a grade point average between 3.5 and 3.99 are included on the Dean’s List, and those with an average between 3.25 and 3.49 are included on the Honors List.

Students from our area who have earned recognition are as follows.

President’s List: Suzann Paul, Union Dale; Amy Roe, Hallstead; Heidi Rowe, Forest City; Linda VanCott, New Milford.

Dean’s List: Barbara Bach, Meshoppen; Michelle Buczeskie, Springville; Shannon Cullen, Susquehanna; Angela Guzy, New Milford; Elizabeth Hanrahan, Susquehanna; Alan Mindas, Forest City; Ruby Penny, Hop Bottom; Daniel Weidow, Starrucca.

Honors List: Eileen Birchard, Montrose; Deborah Hameza, Forest City; Dale Hancock, Kingsley; Nanci Larnerd, Montrose; Max Lawson, Meshoppen; Tracee McEvoy-Kilmer, Nicholson; Tiffany Tanner, Susquehanna.

Back to Top

News  |  Living  |  Sports  |  Schools  |  Churches  |  Ads  |  Events
Military  |  Columns  |  Ed/Op  |  Obits  | Archive  |  Subscribe