Main News
County Living
Church Announcements
Dated Events
Military News
Subscribe to the Transcript

Watch This space for information on upcoming events in Susquehanna County.

Please visit our kind sponsors

Issue Home October 14, 2003 Site Home

Bishop Joseph Martino Installed In Scranton

Bishop Joseph Martino Installed In Scranton

Bishop Joseph F. Martino was installed Thursday, October 2, 2003, as the ninth Bishop of the Diocese of Scranton. The installation began at 2:30 in St. Peter’s Church, Scranton, with a lengthy processional along Wyoming Avenue. The installation Mass, which was by invitation only, was broadcast on Catholic TV.

Bishop Martino was preceded by eight other prelates throughout the 135-year history of the Diocese of Scranton, which was established March 3, by Pope Pius IX. His predecessors, in order, were: Bishop William O’Hara (1868-1899); Bishop Michael J. Hoban (1899-1926); Bishop Thomas C. O’Reilly (1928-1938); Bishop William J. Hafey (1938-1954); Bishop Jerome D. Hannan (1954-1965); Bishop J. Carroll McCormick (1966-1983); Bishop John J. O’Connor (1983-1984); Bishop James C. Timlin (1984-2003). Bishop Timlin was the only diocesan native to become Bishop of Scranton. Bishop O’Connor was named Archbishop of New York and elevated to cardinal in 1984.

Bishop Martino will travel throughout the Diocese of Scranton, during October visiting churches and schools in all eleven counties of the Diocese, where he will offer Mass. The Bishop is not scheduled to visit Susquehanna County Catholic Churches. Susquehanna County has eight Catholic parishes with a population of 42,328. Total population of the Diocese of Scranton 1,066,398. Total number of parishes within the diocese 195.

Back to Top

News  |  Living  |  Sports  |  Schools  |  Churches  |  Ads  |  Events
Military  |  Columns  |  Ed/Op  |  Obits  | Archive  |  Subscribe