Main News
County Living
Church Announcements
Dated Events
Military News
Subscribe to the Transcript

Watch This space for information on upcoming events in Susquehanna County.

Please visit our kind sponsors

Issue Home November 5, 2002 Site Home

Follow these links to our area school districts...



Elk Lake Elementary Students of the Month
Best Students Name Best Teachers

Elk Lake Elementary Students of the Month

Mr. Charles Pirone, Elementary Principal at Elk Lake School, is pleased to announce the September, 2002 Student of the Month Award winners.

Pictured (l-r) are: first row – Joshua Craige, Nicole Whitney, Christian Sprout, Taylor Watkins, Emory Armitage; second row – Lauren Vermeulen, Kristen Opet, MacKenzie Jones, Rebecka Oakes, Dylan Carroll, Staci Stine, Emily Kasson; third row – James Martin, Kellie Darling, Brittany Veina, Amber Brewer, Gabrielle Melan, Samantha Stevens, Kellie Grosvenor.

Students in kindergarten, first and second grades were selected by their homeroom teachers. Students may be selected as student of the month from four different areas. Those four areas are academic achievement, attendance, citizenship and most improved.

Elk Lake is proud of their students and congratulates them for their accomplishments.

Back to Top

Best Students Name Best Teachers

Austin, TX – A select group of America’s teachers are being honored by their toughest critics – their former students, in the seventh edition of Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers, 2002.

All of the approximately 114,000 teachers being honored were selected by their former students who themselves are currently listed Who’s Who Among American High School Students, or The National Dean’s List, publications which recognize 5% of our nation’s high school and college students respectively. Parke Davis, publisher of Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers said, "There is no greater honor teachers can receive than to be recognized by former students for their excellence and dedication. In this publication we clearly have the best teachers in America selected by the best students."

The students were requested to nominate the one teacher from their entire academic career who "made a difference in their lives" by helping to shape their values, inspiring interest in a particular subject and/or challenging them to strive for excellence. Many of the students commented about the enthusiasm and knowledge their teachers demonstrated in the classroom, and many praised their teachers for their ability to relate to youngsters on a personal as well as a professional level. One student wrote about her teacher saying, "She made education something pleasurable, instead of a dreadful ordeal by letting me spread my wings and showing me the best way to fly."

Local educators honored in Who’s Who Among American Teachers, 2002 include the following:

Forest City: Alicia M. Carlo-Bird; David Samuel Costanzo; Joann Warhola DeLucy; Patrick Michael Flynn; Maria Lourdes Masankay; Matthew Joseph Nebzydoski; Cynthia Weiss Washine.

Nicholson: David C. Adams; Julie Ann Lartz; Anthony Hugh Saxton; Janet C. Wrightnour.

Union Dale: Shirley Ann Granger; Holly Sylvester James; Sara Kathryn White.

Laceyville: Paulette Ashcraft Conrad.

Meshoppen: Dianna Glemser Mowry.

Montrose: John Joseph Cherundolo; Donald Lewis Cunningham; Mary Ann Michael Cunningham; Petrina Rose Gregory; Kathleen E. Flanagan Host; Jane F. Jerauld; Robert Vincent Kross; Deborah Myers Lewis; Michael Francis Ognosky; Cathleen Ann Regan; Alicia Ann Ross.

Brackney: Donna Lee Evans.

Dimock: Terry Blaisure; Jack M. Carr; David H. Clancy; Mary Claire McCormack Coleman; Donna Lee Evans; Penny Cole Farr; Kathleen E. Flanagan Host; Donna Marlene Jones; Karen M. Krakosky; Marie E. Michalek; Chris Montross.

Friendsville: Donna Marlene Jones; Carolyn Leigh Morrison.

Great Bend: Paula Slick Skube.

Hallstead: Ronald Charles Stiles.

Harford: Kevin Ruess.

Jackson: Christopher John Lake.

Kingsley: Shirley Ann Granger; Holly Sylvester James; Kevin Ruess; MaryAnn Tranovich; SueAnn Smith Wildrick.

New Milford: Donald Lewis Cunningham: Mary Ann Michael Cunningham; Tricia Syron Gilboy; Kevin J. Hastie; Patricia Louise Mooney; Michael Francis Ognosky; Alicia Ann Ross; Heather Y. Smith; Andrew Michael Snitzer; Paul Andrew Sokoloski; Ronald Charles Stiles; Sharon Ann Wolfe.

Springville: Terry Blaisure; Diane Sheldon.

Susquehanna: Jay D. Harter; Andrew Michael Snitzer; Pamela June Weiss; Sharon Ann Wolfe; Joseph C. Zabielski III.

Back to Top

News  |  Living  |  Sports  |  Schools  |  Churches  |  Ads  |  Events
Military  |  Columns  |  Ed/Op  |  Obits  | Archive  |  Subscribe