Main News
County Living
Church Announcements
Dated Events
Military News
Subscribe to the Transcript

Look For Our Up Coming
BRIDAL SPECIAL Featured In Our Mar. 15th Issue Of The Susquehanna County Transcript

Please visit our kind sponsors

Issue Home March 14, 2006 Site Home

Follow these links to our area school districts...



SCCTC Announces Students Of The Month
EL Debater Qualifies To National Tourney
Khayla Shearer Is Rotary Club SOM
Elk Lake High School Students Of The Month
Blue Ridge Elementary Citizens Of The Month
Local Students Make IUP Dean’s List
Dodgeball Tournament



SCCTC Announces Students Of The Month

Mrs. Alice M. Davis, Vocational Director of the Susquehanna County Career & Technology Center, is proud to announce the SCCTC “Students of the Month” for January, 2006. Pictuted above (l-r) are: Devin Walters, Leighann Warner, Kristina Gunn, Sarah Gardner, Alycia Fink, Melissa Compton, Lucas Schwartztrauber, Adam Belles, Matt Butts, Mrs. Alice Davis and Chris Baker. Absent from photo: Michael Nice.

Back to Top


EL Debater Qualifies To National Tourney

Elk Lake junior Molly Copeland added her name to the list of over 200 Lincoln-Douglas Debate competitors at the 2006 Catholic Forensics League’s Grand National Tournament in Chicago, IL over Memorial Day weekend by placing in the top four at the Scranton Catholic Forensics League’s National Qualifying Tournament on March 4 at Wallenpaupack JHS.

Copeland advanced to the elimination debate by defeating debaters from Pocono Mountain West, Mechanicsburg and Danville high schools. She lost her opening debate to Jeremy Stettler from Shikellamy High School.

Pictured (l-r) are: EL Debate Coach Jon Allen; EL CFL National Qualifier in Lincoln-Douglas Debate – Molly Copeland; EL Forensics Director – Keith Brosious.

Because there were no undefeated debaters after the four preliminary rounds, four run-off debates were held. Order and opponents were determined by preliminary record and speaker points.

Since Copeland was the top-seeded debater, she had to face the 8th seeded debater, Jordan Smith, from Mechanicsburg.

In the run-off debate Copeland won a split decision over Smith, whom she had beaten earlier in the day, and earned a trip to Nationals.

Elk Lake’s other debater in the field, sophomore Karyn Hunsinger also advanced to a run-off debate and lost a split decision to Zak Pyzik from Pocono Mountain West HS.

“For Molly (Copeland) this was the culmination of a year of hard work and determination. She put the effort all season and the experience paid off when it really counted,” commented EL Forensics Director Keith Brosious.

“Karyn’s performance is also indicative of how far she has come this season as a debater,” added Brosious.

Based on her wins at the tournament, Copeland has run her season LD Debate record to 36 wins and 14 losses.

The team will travel to suburban Philadelphia for the Valley Forge District National Forensics League National Qualifier at LaSalle College HS. The top two finishers in each division will earn trips to Dallas, TX on the third week in June to compete at the NFL National Tournament.

Back to Top



Kyle Hanjaras, a 2005 graduate of the Susquehanna County Career and Technology Center Food Management Program, is currently a Culinary Arts major at the Pennsylvania College of Technology. In October 2005, Kyle returned to his Alma Mater to demonstrate his newly acquired skills to the ninth grade Food Management Exploratory Program.

Mrs. Donna Evans, the Food Management instructor, was in awe of Kyle’s professionalism and skill level. His parents, Richard and Wendy Seymour of Burdick Creek Gardens, donated all of the fresh produce to provide a delicious “Pico de Gallo” for the students. Burdick Creek Gardens is one of the largest garlic producers on the east coast. They also specialize in bread dippers, hot sauce and fresh organic produce.

Pictured is Mr. Hanjaras with 12th grade student, Casey Phetmounghkoune from Susquehanna Community High School who is currently enrolled in the Food Management Program.

Mrs. Donna Evans and the entire administration and staff at the Susquehanna County Career and Technology Center wish Kyle Hanjaras continued success in his future endeavors.

Students from seven area high schools attend the SCCTC. They are Blue Ridge High School, Elk Lake High School, Lackawanna Trail High School, Montrose Area High School, Mountain View High School, Susquehanna Community High School, and Tunkhannock Area High School. The programs available at the SCCTC are open to high school students in grades ten through twelve and adult learners.

Back to Top


Elk Lake High School Students Of The Month

Elk Lake High School Principal Kenneth F. Cuomo, Ed.D. is pleased to announce the following students who were selected as January, 2006 “Students of the Month.”

Pictured (l-r) are: front row – Joshua Hunsinger, Joyce Carey, Leighann Warner, Katherine Lucenti, Lyndsey Pompey, Samantha Post, Leila Blachek. Absent from photo: Christopher Monticue, Marilyn DiMichele.

Students of the month are selected by nominations of any student in grades 10 – 12 by a teacher for outstanding achievement. The student must show individual effort, community and school wide effort, as well as effort in the classroom.

Other important criteria includes: a showing of personal growth, skill development, dedication, leadership, school service and community service. Academic growth and improvement are also part of these criteria.

Back to Top


Blue Ridge Elementary Citizens Of The Month

Following is a list of Blue Ridge Elementary Citizens of the Month for February, 2005.

Kindergarten: Mrs. Johnson – Devin Crandall, Mrs. Rhone – Garrett Mansfield, Mrs. Skal – Carson Church, Mrs. Small – Kathryn Meck, Mrs. Whitehead – Jerry Kelly.

Grade 1: Miss Bowman – Amanda Riley, Mrs. Button – Darren Davies, Mrs. Farrell – Dominick Rogers, Mrs. Reese – Tyler Pruitt, Mrs. Scott – Mikhala Griemsmann.

Grade 2: Mrs. Berger – Jeremy Shiptoski, Ms. Levine – Dylan Thompson, Mrs. Theophila – Harrison Parsons.

Grade 3: Miss Mead – Kalieb Scheideler, Miss Pease – Nicholas Kogut, Ms. Pitcher – Nikolas Corley, Mrs. Watkins – Casey Purdum.

Grade 4: Miss Daniels – Caroline Davis, Mr. Goff – Bradley Palmatier, Mrs. Harter – Makayla Kingston, Mr. Jones – Bethany Krug.

Grade 5: Mrs. Buffington – Andrea Isby, Mrs. Chamberlain – Madison Button, Mr. Mazikewich – Stephanie Button, Mrs. Wolfe – Shanyn Mattocks.

Mrs. Bleck – Stacey Darrow.

Mrs. Heal – Harley Atherholt.

Mrs. Hitchcock – Aaron Ward.

Mrs. Suchy – Joseph Calla.

Mrs. Klenchik – Jessica Weber.

Back to Top


Local Students Make IUP Dean’s List

The following students from Susquehanna County have been named to the fall 2005 Dean’s List at Indiana University of Pennsylvania. Students achieve Dean’s List status when they are full-time (12 or more credits) with a grade point average of 3.25 or higher. Qualifying for the honor were Suzanne E. Creps, South Gibson; Jill E. Slocum, Thompson.

Back to Top


Dodgeball Tournament

The Montrose Senior Class of 2006 is hosting the 1st Annual Dodgeball Tournament.

Where: Montrose Area Jr/Sr High School
When: Saturday, March 25th
Pick up registration forms at Montrose High School; Pump-n-Pantry; Montrose McDonalds
Team will consists of 6-7 players; $30/team if sign up by March 16th; $35/team if sign up after March 16th
First game at 9am
Concession stand, 50/50 drawings and t-shirt sale all day !
Please come and support the 2006 Montrose Senior Class!

Back to Top


News  |  Living  |  Sports  |  Schools  |  Churches  |  Ads  |  Events
Military  |  Columns  |  Ed/Op  |  Obits  | Archive  |  Subscribe